

Vidya Scholarship Trust Fund (VSTF) Report

17th Annual General Meeting, MGCAANA

Our Mission

Who are the Students Who Receive the Financial Assistance From the Vidya Scholarship Trust Fund?

Most deserving economically disadvantaged students who do well in their studies and extra curricular activities from grades 6 and up at Mahamaya.



Our Vision

Trust fund

- Our goal was to establish a fund with an initial capital of, at least, \$20,000 (achieved in 2018). New goal \$30,000.
- The interest would go towards awarding around 20 scholarships per year to ensure continuity of the project.
- Scholarships primarily based on financial need and will pay for education expenses and/or boarding fees of students attending Mahamaya.

Endowment Committee

Endowment committee members

- Kishani Martin (Co-chair)
- Himashinie Diyabalanage (Co-chair)
- Vihara Dharmaratne
- Dharshani Nanayakkara
- Sujatha Werake
- Manushi Welandawe

Attorneys at law

- Harshi Ehelepola Waters (USA)
- Mahesica Giragama (Sri Lanka)

Board of Trustees

Vidya Scholarship Trust Fund was successfully established in November, 2009.

Board of Trustees 2021-2022

Mrs. Kishani Martin (MGCAANA representative)

Dr. Himashinie Diyabalanage (MGCAANA representative)

Dr. Hemalika Karunaratne (President)

Mrs. Chamila Jayawardhane (Secretary)

Mrs. Shyama Dayaratne (Treasurer)

Mrs. Nilu Wijekoon (Coordinator -Mahamaya Girls' College)

Application Process

- A standard application created by the MGCAANA Endowment Committee is used by the candidates.
- Class teachers serve as liaisons between the Board of Trustees and the eligible students.
- We ensure that a fair selection process is utilized in order to choose the most deserving candidates amongst the applicants.

Our Progress

By May, 2021 we have been successful in collecting a total of \$28,255.00! 94% of our current goal!

The current fixed deposits (eleven) of Vidya Scholarship Trust Fund: (at Bank of Ceylon, Kandy)

FD#	Year started	Amount (LKR)	
1	2010	714,000.00	
2	2010	210,000.00	
3	2012	237,000.00	
4	2012	81,220.00	
5	2013	100,000.00	
6	2014	169,220.00	
7	2015	110,000.00	
8	2016	185,000.00	
9	2017	170,000.00	
10	2018	675,001.60	
11	2020	655,200.00	
Total 3,306,641.6			

Our Progress (contd.)

Other bank account details (in Bank of Ceylon, Kandy, Sri Lanka)

Account	Balance (LKR) (as of March 31, 2021)
Savings account (Interest accrued on FDs)	639542.62
Petty cash account	9708.56

Annual audit: VSTF accounts in Sri Lanka

Audited by: P. R. A. Seneviratne & Co., D. S. Senanayake Veediya, Kandy

Audit for the past year ending in March 31, 2020: In progress. (auditor's office closed due to COVID)

VSTF funds: MGCAANA bank account (USA)

Current balance	\$ 4455.00
(as of May 22, 2020)	

Our Progress (contd.)

Scholarship awards summary

Year	# of awards	Amount (LKR)
2011	10	6000.00
2012	10	6000.00
2013	10	6000.00
2014	10	6000.00
2015	10	6000.00
2016	10	6000.00
2017	10	6000.00
2018	14	10,000.00
2019	15	15,000.00
2020	13	15,000.00

We Need Your Help!

How can you contribute?

- We invite you to be a part of this ambitious project, to give hope to the hope-less, to give knowledge to those who seek it, to care for the under-cared, and to save one child at a time from poverty.
- If you would like to make a donation, our direct web link for donations via papal:
 - http://www.mahamayaalumnina.org/vstf.php

► Is your donation tax deductible?

 MGCAANA is a non-profit organization and is exempt from Federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Thus, your contributions are tax deductible under Section 170 of the Code.

▶ Donor recognition

 The names of the donors will be displayed on a plaque at Mahamaya Girls' College.

DONOR LIST

The list of donors from the USA & Canada:

Ms. Carol McCready-Cohn

Ms. Laura Tuck

Mrs. Sagarika Welegama Rathninde

Ms. Laurie Rossnagel

Mr. Donald C. Seymour & Mrs. Barbara P. Seymour

Dr. Mahinda Werake & Mrs. Sujatha Werake

Mr. Priti Gunasekera & Mrs. Sitha Gunasekera

Ms. Surisa Phumtim

Mr. Kamaljith B. Dorabawila & Dr. V. Nilmini Dorabawila

Mr. Aruna Wickremeratne & Mrs. Catherine Wickremeratne

Ms. Nalini P. Liyanamana

Dr. Nalini Jeyapalan

Mrs. Avanthi Hulangamuwa Kuruwita

Mr. Gregory L. Waters & Mrs. Carolyn Waters

Dr. Dulanjalie Dhanapala

Mr. Janaka Gunasekera & Mrs. Samanthi Suraweera

Ms.Lili Angel

Ms. Pat Waters

Mr. Sujith Welagedara

Mr. Ravi Suriyaarachchi & Mrs. Erandi Suriyaarachchi

Dr. Himashinie Diyabalanage

Dr. Hemalika Karunaratne Abeysundara

Dr. Deepa Dharshani Nanayakkara

Ms. Pamuditha Mahadiulwewa

Mrs. Pushpalatha Menike Gunasekera (in memory of her late husband Dr. H. M.

Gunasekera)

Ms. Harshini Gunatilake.

Dr. Niranjala Tillakeratne

Ms. Alma

Mr. Curtis L. Waters & Mrs. Harshi Waters

Mrs. Nanda Leula

Ms. Chamini Rajaguru

Ms. Deepika Dehigama

Dr. Taroshini Kasturiarachchi

Mr. Bruno Casolari

Dr. Indrani Sagarika Narangoda

Ms. Nandita Rubello

Mrs. Geetha Eragoda

Dr. Nelum Dorabawila

Mrs. Neranjika Dissanayake

Dr. Punya Thalagala

DONOR LIST

The list of donors from the USA & Canada (Cntd..)

Dr. Lal Fernando & Mrs. Nayana Fernando

Mr. Rukmal Fernando

Mrs.Kumudinie Fonseka

Mrs. Ranjini Deraniyagala

Mr. Lakshman Caldera & Mrs. Roshini Caldera

Mr. Dillion Dewundara & Mrs. Subadra

Dewundara

Mr. Gunasinghe Hewage Rukmal

Dr. K. Thabolingam & Mrs. Sriya Thabolingam

Mrs. Gayathri Samarasingha

Mrs. Deepani Waidyaratne

Dr. Samudrika Amarakone

Dr. Nirmala Gunapala

Mr. Priyalal Wickramasuriya

Mrs. Geethanjali Selvendran

Mrs. Kanthi De Silva (in memory of late Mrs.

Nanda Leula)

Mrs. Sriyani Dissanayake

Ms. Mindi Unietis

Mr. Vathsal & Mrs. Dunya

Mrs. Nanda Gamage

Mr. S. Y. Chen

Mrs. Savithri Gunaratne

Dr. Indrani Gunawardane

Ms. Vihara Dharmaratne

Dr. Preethi Nimalka Sivakumara

Sri Lanka Canada Association of Ottawa (SLCAO)

Dr. Ranjani Siriwardane

Ms. BerliniNarampanawa

Network for good

Ms. Sasini Bentota

Ms. Aloka Paragodaarachchi

Dr. Devi Gunasekera

Dr. Nelum Dorabawila

Mrs. Upamali Ratnayake

Mrs. Lilika Molligoda

Mr. Ralph McCormick

Ms. Himanthi Wanninayake

Dr. Rasika Dias & Mrs. Shamini Dias

Ms. Nadeepa Jayasundare

Ms. Vindya Thilakaratne

Dr. Chammi Miller

Mrs. Chathuri Nugawela Munasinghe

DONOR LIST

The list of donors from New Zealand, Australia, Europe and United Kingdom:

Dr. Arosha Kulasekera

Mr. Lalith Fernando & Dr. Achela Godigamuwa

Mr. Madhuka Dassanayake & Dr. Nadhi

Fonseka

The list of donors from Sri Lanka:

Mrs. Chathuri Nugawela

Ms. Shiyanthi Dunuwille

Mr. Prasanna Wikramasekara

Thank you!

Prepared by: Himashinie Diyabalanage

Co-chair, Endowment committee

Trustee & MGCAANA representative, Vidya Scholarship Trust Fund